‘The Lewis-Jones Charity for the Promotion of Halsted and other One-Name Studies’ (charity number 1090907) was registered with the Charity Commission on 4th March 2002. Its working name is ‘The Halsted Trust’.

The Halsted Trust is managed by 5 Trustees and two Researchers:


Alec Tritton, Chairman (appointed 2002)

Geoff Swinfield (appointed September 2014)

Else Churchill (appointed July 2007)

Anne Ramon, Secretary (appointed January 2014)

Laura Doyle, Treasurer (appointed November 2019)

Research Director: John Hanson

DNA Research Director:  Hester Coley

Governing Documents

A Declaration of Trust dated 14th Febuary 2002 governs the objectives of the Trust.  Its charitable objective is to advance the education of the public in the study of and research into family history, genealogy, heraldry and local history through one-name studies generally, but in particular with reference to all persons having the surname of Halsted, and to promote the preservation, security and publication of the useful results of such research.


The Trust’s financial year end is 28 Feb and its financial history and accounts can be viewed at the
UK Charity Commission’s website: https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/charity-search/-/charity-details/3980796